Second District Commissioners

Commission Commissioner 
Aviation Commission Clinton Simmons
Aviation Commission Dennis Lord
Board of Education Alex Johnson
Board of Governors,
Department of Museum of Natural History
Eric Moore
Board of Investments Kenneth Simril
Board of Investments Wayne Moore
Board of Retirement Marvin Adams
Citizens’ Economy and Efficiency Commission Wilma J. Pinder
Citizens’ Economy and Efficiency Commission T. Warren Jackson
Civilian Oversight Commission Xavier Thompson
Commission for Children and Families Sydney Kamlager
Commission for Older Adults Marva Cooper Bell
Commission for Older Adults Alice F. Craft
Commission for Older Adults Ron Jackson
Commission for Public Social Services Booker Pearson
Commission for Women Lindsay Louie
Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs Dr. Kynna Wright
Commission on Human Relations Melina Abdullah
Compton Creek Mosquito Abatement District Janna E. Zurita
Compton Creek Mosquito Abatement District Micah Ali
Economic Development Corporation of Los Angeles Dwayne Gathers
Emergency Medical Services Commission James Lott
Engineering Geology and Soils Review and Appeals Board James Rowlands
Fish and Wildlife Commission Lee Wax
Immigrant Protection Task Force Claudia Guitierrez
Information Systems Commission Tony Clemons
LA Care Health Plan Christina Ghaly
Library Commission Nancy Kuechle
Los Angeles City-County Native American Indian Commission Cheri Lee Thomas
Los Angeles County Arts Commission Hope Warschaw
Los Angeles County Arts Commission Pamela Bright-Moon
Los Angeles County Board of Education Candace Bond McKeever
Los Angeles County Children & Families First (aka First 5 L.A.) Romalis Taylor
Los Angeles County Commission for Older Adults LaVada Theus
Los Angeles County Commission for Older Adults Michael Neely
Los Angeles County Commission on Disabilities Marsha Mitchell-Bray
Los Angeles County Commission on Disabilities Cathleen Gott
Los Angeles County Commission on Insurance Bob Blake
Los Angeles County Commission on Local Government Mark Burman
Los Angeles County Housing Commission Henry Porter
Los Angeles County Mental Health Commission Jo Helen Graham
Los Angeles County Mental Health Commission Kita S. Curry
Los Angeles County Small Business Commission Angela Gibson
Los Angeles County Veteran’s Advisory Commission Patricia Jackson-Kelley
Los Angeles Homeless Services Authority Jacqueline Waggoner
Museum of Natural History Shannon L. Faulk
Probation Commission Jan Levine
Probation Commission Olivia Mitchell
Probation Commission Cyn Yamashiro
Regional Planning Commission David Louie
Small Craft Harbor Commission David Lumien
Small Craft Harbor Design Control Board Jerome Stanley
Sybil Brand Commission Cheryl Grills
Women and Girls Initiative Anita DeFrantz
Women and Girls Initiative Araceli Campos
Women and Girls Initiative Sharon Shelton
Workforce Development Board Erick Verduzco-Vega
Workforce Development Board Lola Smallwood Cuevas

February 2017

February 28, 2017

February 21, 2017

February 14, 2017

February 7, 2017

January 2017


January 31, 2017

January 24, 2017

January 10, 2017

December 2016

December 20, 2016

December 13, 2016

December 6, 2016

Reflections on 25 Years of Public Service

25-years-of-service Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas sat down with ABC 7 Eyewitness News anchor Marc Brown to reflect on his 25 years in public service, vowing to continue working to address homelessness and other issues affecting the people of Los Angeles County.

img_2895About 300 people attended the event hosted by the University of Southern California, in partnership with the Empowerment Congress, at Town and Gown. LA City Councilman Curren Price, Inglewood Mayor James Butts and Compton Mayor Aja Brown were among the guests, along with former Mayor Richard Riordan and former LA City Council members Mike Woo and Wendy Greuel.

Also in attendance were civic and community leaders who have worked with the Supervisor over the decades on a variety of projects, including the opening of the Martin Luther King. Jr. Community Hospital, the return of the Rams to Los Angeles, and the creation of a Civilian Oversight Commission for the Sheriff’s Department.

USC President C.L. Max Nikias and Cassandra Chase  of the Empowerment Congress paid tribute to the Supervisor in their remarks, and the Reverent Cecil “Chip” Murray delivered the invocation.

25-years-of-service-2Mark Ridley-Thomas was first elected to public office in 1991 and served on the Los Angeles City Council for nearly a dozen years, departing as Council President pro Tempore. He later served two terms in the California State Assembly, where he chaired the Assembly Democratic Caucus. Afterwards, he  served the 26th District in the California State Senate where he chaired the Senate’s Committee on Business, Professions and Economic Development. In 2008, he was elected to the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors.